Do all families have their little ‘quirks’?..or are we a bit …odd?

You know when you have family in jokes or things that make you all giggle that other people, if you sat and thought about it, would probably find a bit odd? You do know what I mean don’t you? We’re not really totally nutty? There are certainly little traditions and quirks go on here that when I reflect are a little out of the ordinary. I’ll tell you a few then you can reassure me with some of your own?? Deal?? 

We communicate via TV and movie quotes 

I’ve noticed this one for a while. For example, upon entering the house rather than shout “hello” a cry of “hello family”  goes out you know in the manner of the odd shop guy from Frozen?? That’s whether it’s me or the teens or the little one! 

Being dragged outside  when you’d rather stay in will lead to “I don’t wanna go” being cried a la David Tennants Doctor! 

A new recent addition after I won parenting by watching all series of Friends with the teens is the call of “I’m fine! ” In a Ross manner when you’re anything but (toe stubbing incidents and the like) this goes well with announcing it’s fajitas for tea. 

Football predictions league 

This is one of youngest boys things. He has a book fit for purpose and everything.

 The rules are very strict. Score and scorer predictions for the weekend must be in for 7pm Friday . 

Mum must do hers first as there are suspicions she copies other people’s answers (how the hell am I meant to know who’s likely to score for West Brom?) 

Only youngest boy may touch and mark the book. 

The lad can’t get it together to get his socks into the wash basket but he can do this week in week out? I’m currently bottom of the league if you’re interested.. . 

The good sofa spot

It seems the only place worth sitting in the living room is the right hand corner of the big sofa. Wars have been fought over it(or feels like) deals are struck, negotiations the UN peace ambassador would be proud of take place over than spot. I, personally don’t become embroiled in such nonsense. I prefer the left corner of the small sofa and no one wants this spot. Rumour has it it’s moulded to the exact shape of my bum (I started that rumour) 

Stupid names

I love this one, the teens at 14,15 and 17 do not bat an eyelid at the stupid silly names I’ve been calling them since babyhood. I’m not entirely sure if I’m allowed to communicate with them at all in public… but at home I call out “Lukey Snooks” and the answer will be “yes mum?”. It’s not just them either, their poor auntie will never be known as anything other as La La. 

Football snacks 

Big football matches mean mums special football snacks. We’ve actually branched out recently and ‘football snacks’ are now really dragged out for any sporting events worthy of note. Football snacks must include (but are not limited to) 

Nachos (no sour cream or guacamole) 

Bbq chicken wings 

Sausage rolls

Potato wedges

Garlic bread 

Onion rings

Mmmm… Actually that’s not weird, that’s sounds yummy… any sport on tonight? ? 

Mothers day talent shows

This is a cute one! ! The kids, even the elder ones still do me a talent show every single mother’s day. It’s always a surprise (insert shocked look here! ) Small girl will dance or do a gymnastics display, 2 of the teens will play guitar and the other do a stand up routine!! Aren’t they sweet really? ? 

So there’s our little family quirks. .. Now tell us yours PLEASE SAY YOU HAVE SOME! ! 

Don’t worry I don’t expect anyone to outdo the football score prediction league for weirdness!! 

I also think, should the time ever come where another human grown man is integrated into this family, they’d have to be as nuts as the rest of us! 

My Facebook blog page is here

3 Little Buttons

Mission Mindfulness

 

23 thoughts on “Do all families have their little ‘quirks’?..or are we a bit …odd?

  1. I love this. Your family sounds like such a happy one where you all actually like each other because you do, not because you have to! It’s only me and my 2yo and we’ve not quite developed our own yet, but after reading this, I’ll be looking out for opportunities. Just no football please! #chucklemums

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s definitely an advantage of them getting older, they’re great company now everyone can toilet alone!! The football crept up like a ninja and I became swept away by their enthusiasm!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Those snacks sound good, and I want to play your football game. We tend to sing a lot, even though none of us can actually sing without far away dogs joining in with mournful howls… Thanks for linking up to #chucklemums

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’d happily sit through football just to get football snacks!
    I think we probably have quirks but they feel like ‘normals’

    We have Daddy looking – When someone asks where something is and they’ve not got off their arse to look for it.
    Mummy looking – When stuff is found.
    We have “THAT Mummy/Daddy/Aoife/Seth” – said in chorus by other family members when whichever has done something a bit daft.
    Fruit picnics – eating fruit on a blanket. Only way to get it in them, the highlight of school holidays.
    Indoor picnics – when we can’t be bothered to have manners or a nutritious meal.
    Not quirks per se, but stuff others don’t ‘get’ 🙂

    All round yours for the footie aye??

    Like

  4. Yep, plenty to relate to here … favourite chairs, talking to each other through telly thngs like the Royale Family …careful with the nicknames though … our son is Oran, and was happily Orry Snory for years … AT HOME … I called him it once at football training … and he went bezerk afterwards. They had teased him unmercifully … in that lovely gentle way boys do!!! #DreamTeam

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment