A little bit in awe of teen girl , an instinctive feminist…

My teenage daughter , she won’t mind me saying , has previous for being a bit of a pain in the arse. I wrote this a while back about why , although it can be frustrating I don’t necessarily see it as being a solely bad thing.

I suffer great mum bias of course but as well as being kind and funny and beautiful and ridiculously cool in a way I certainly was not at 15 she just seems to ‘get it’.

I would certainly label myself as feminist and maybe some of my preaching that I often feel is falling on deaf ears to all 4 of them is filtering down after all but she’s an instinctive feminist. I think I learnt feminism. I think I saw things happening in the world I didn’t like and then looked to people more knowledgeable than myself to ask questions to and to ask what I should be reading and what I could do as an individual to help.

Eldest girl though , she just seems to know it , she feels it . I’m in awe of that.

The other day we were walking back from the shop. Chatting about the new bank notes. She mentioned there hadn’t been as much as a fanfare about the new £10 note as there had been the £5. I , said ah that’ll be because there are no men on it! We then spoke about what a struggle it had been to get Jane Austen on the note. I told her about all the vile abuse and threats that campaigner Caroline Criado-Perez had received throughout the campaign to get a woman on the note.
My daughter’s response came immediately.

“Well you know why that is don’t you?”

“Because those men took offence to being excluded” I offered.

“Well yes , but especially excluded from being on money . Those kind of men who behave that way see money as power and certainly don’t want replacing by women.”

This had never occurred to me . Yes I’d concluded that the men threatening to rape and kill Caroline Criado-Perez for daring to campaign for a female face to join the Queen on our currency were suffering from such fragile masculinity that they couldn’t stand to see men removed from on a bank note. To equate that with money and power being synonymous had passed me by. Not her though.

Her feminism gives me hope.

Her feminism means she rolls her eyes when comment is passed about why she can’t dress more ‘like a girl’ (” I’m a girl , I’m wearing clothes I AM dressed like a girl”)

Her feminism means when the boys at primary school refused to pass to her on the football team as she was a girl her reaction was to win player of the match rather than have a row.

Her feminism means pulling up girls at school who are telling her friends they should be on one ridiculous diet or another. Telling them they’re spreading dangerous nonsense . I’m super proud she told me she did this whist munching on a chip butty but that’s just me.

Her feminism means pink and blue kinder eggs anger her , that nothing irritates her more than being told she’s ‘ too pretty ‘ to play rugby and should be looking after that face , that has rejected gender stereotyping from being a little , little girl.
Yes she likes the last word , yes she drives her brothers mad winding them up just for fun , yes she’s overly argumentative and yes she has a temper and can strop like a toddler at times.

I’ve always thought and always said though that this girl can and will change the world one day.

I think maybe she already is.

 

 

 

 

E L Feelgood's Vintage

 

 

 

 

 

Me, Being Mummy


 

 

Tammymum

 

62 thoughts on “A little bit in awe of teen girl , an instinctive feminist…

  1. I don’t have a daughter, but 3 sons and a step son, my sister who has one of each tells me that I am blessed having boys as her daughter is a bit of a diva, looks like you have a fantastic relationship with your girl#teenstweensandbeyond@_karendennis

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your daughter sounds like such a strong, smart woman. It’s great to see the younger generation fighting back against the gender stereotypes that are still so pervasive in our culture. I hope my daughter grows up to be a kick-ass feminist too. #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

  3. WE need more teen girls like your daughter for sure. So many teenagers these days are falling into shallow views on life fuelled by reality TV that the desire to learn and be heard and to be strong are being lost. Great inspirational post and I am sure your daughter will go far and make a difference in this world #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is what I tell myself when she is at her most ‘passionate’ ….least she’s not whining on about fake tan or something!!!

    Like

  5. Your daughter sounds like a credit to you. I am embarrassed to say I didn’t know about all the controversy with having Austen. A really enlightening post and an important thing to raise with my son in conversation. #fortheloveofblog xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sounds to me like you’ve raised a wonderfully intelligent young woman right there!! Confidence in the issues that she feels passionate are about, for me, is the highest from of intelligence! What a brilliant young lady! #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Go girl! Good for her! My daughter is 6 and is extremely ‘girly’ but even at such a young age she won’t be told she isn’t capable of something that boys can do. They have just started a boys football club at her school and she is more than a little put out that she has been excluded and plans to bring it up as school councilor!

    Like

  8. YES! This is fabulous! My hope is that each generation becomes a little more intuitively feminist as the old way of doing things finally gets abandoned. It seems like your daughter has cut right to the core of things. #blogcrush

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Your daughter sounds amazing, I love that she’s got this attitude towards feminism just built in. It definitely sounds like she’s going to do great things one day cx #forthoveofblog

    Liked by 1 person

  10. The confidence of teens….I have a teen daughter too who would roll her eyes at some of these things too. I love the fact that she is fierce and proud. Let’s hope they both keep that side to them when they go out into the big wide world. #blogcrush

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Your girl sounds like the kind of girl I’m trying to raise myself! I love the insight she had on the whole £10 note thing at such a young age. This post gives me hope that the next generation will carry on the fight to bring down the patriarchy (as long as we’ve not smashed it ourselves by then of course) #HoneybeeLinky

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Beautiful post. It give me heart for the future. I also had/have to learn to be “feminist.” I think everyone should think that way, but sadly very few people have the natural inclination. My 2 girls aren’t displaying these same ideals yet, but they are still young. With any luck they will see the injustices as well, and just “know” that being a woman does NOT mean they are less than they would be if a man.
    Thanks for sharing!
    ~Jess
    #FamilyFun

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Your daughter knows her own mind and has such a brilliant insight into how women should truly be treated. I hadn’t equated that link between power and money either?! I was a bit preoccupied with the fact that they had to ‘beautify’ Jane Austen in order to make her ‘more presentable’ to be put on the note. They used the excuse that they only had an amateur portrait of her to go by, but the fact she was called ‘plain Jane’ should have been a little bit of a clue! Thank you for joining in with the HoneyBee Linky again! Hope to see you next time lovely! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment