The perils of a teenage crush….. when you’re way too old for that! 

I’ve been banging on a bit recently about a certain lovely guy. It’s all fantastic and fun and I’m having the best time. I just can’t help feeling I’ve come into all this stuff a bit late in the day. I’m a bit of an oddball in that at 37 I’ve never done the ‘love stuff’… . ever! ! I’ve probably done a bit of low level crushing but that’s as far as it goes. I just don’t (didn’t) get giddy over guys. So I’ve got to tell you there are distinct perils of waiting till you’re 37 to develop a teenage crush.

It’s really quite unbecoming 

Love that word!! Anyway giddily smiling at your phone over a cute text or sat  daydreaming all gooey eyed does not suit a woman of my age. People would take one look and either think I’m on some kinda drug or are just a bit vacant!!
.

It’s tricky to know how to play it

I mean back in the day I last had a major crush when I were about 7 this did the trick. .

A grown mum of 4 doesn’t really have these options at her disposal.

What do I do in this position? I don’t bloody know and I don’t want to look like a total idiot who doesn’t know how to deal with men.

Spoiler alert : I am a total idiot who doesn’t know how to deal with men.

Do I answer texts right away? Can I just call at any time? Should I be playing hard to get? Sigh….

I really should have gotten this stuff out of the way when I had way more time on my hands!

My mental health ‘quirks’ confuse matters

Aaawww you know when you’re all crushy over someone? Butterflies in the tummy, a little appetite loss, replaying little moments in your mind to give them a second go, you sometimes get a little bit breathless around them?

WELL. Which bloody genius decided to make all these things also my anxiety symptoms. Not very well thought out this one! Sooo confusing.

Welcome to Kelly’s new quiz show… Adoration or Anxiety? ?? Thriller it is!

I behave like the opposite of me

I’m not really emotions girl.

I’m certainly not affection girl.

I’m certainly, certainly not public handholdy girl *vomits *

Until I am….

I don’t recognise myself – I’m not quite up to love poetry or heartfelt sentiment yet. Getting there though. I mean not long back whilst looking at the object of my crush I thought to myself “You’re so gorgeous”. . . Unfortunately it accidentally slipped out of my mouth-seriously Kelly get a bloody grip ! ! I suppose though if being around someone rounds off your sharp spiky edges a little bit or manages to negotiate the 10 foot high electric fence you surround yourself with – well that’s got to be a positive.

So you know it is quite cringey for a grown woman to be floating about like a besotted teenager, it’s just I didn’t do it back then you see? I’m just on catch up with the rest of you! Should you guys fancy an insight into my actual teen years though, just lay on your bed reading and avoiding the world for a couple of years.

However cringey it is though-in the current climate, I think that anything that makes you smile is probably worth holding onto for a little while! !!

 

Not Just The 3 Of Us
14 thoughts on “The perils of a teenage crush….. when you’re way too old for that! 

  1. There is nothing quite like the first throws of being in love or dancing some one is there? My first crush was when I was ten and in hospital having my appendix removed, I really liked one of the male nurses we wrote to each other when I was recovered I hope he didn’t get into trouble for that I stopped writing when he told me he had got engaged #teenstweensandbeyond@_karendennis

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh this did make me laugh (I hope you don’t mind!) It’s just, you’re not alone – real love AND crushes floor you sometimes and can hilariously reduce you to a pile of jibbering mess. It was the recognition of this and MY past experiences too which really made this a good read and a good laugh. Good luck – I hope it blossoms into something more for you! 😉 #teenstweenbeyond

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so exciting. Enjoy the butterflies and the fuzzy, warm feelings. They’re all yours. There are no rules, you do what you feel is right and what makes you happy. You deserve it 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kelly everyone deserves a bit of happiness and it is your turn for sure! Enjoy every head spinning, heart jumping moment and don’t worry about who you come across – do what feels right! Looking forward to an update #TweensTeensBeyond

    Like

  5. So wonderful to read this today Kelly. Those moments and feelings are just the best – get on and enjoy every minute. And keep us updated on your progress. We can’t have a cliffhanger at #tweensteensbeyond.

    Like

  6. Aah, this is so cute! And I don’t think age comes into it, sometimes it just takes a bit longer to find the one who sets you alight! I wish you all the best with it, whether it’s just fun for now or something a bit more serious, everyone deserves some of the good jelly-knees and butterflies in their life!
    #PostsFromTheHeart

    Like

Leave a Reply

