5 (brilliant) reasons to start a blog! ! 


My new years resolution was to ‘try new things’. Well actually that was last year’s resolution but it worked quite well for me so I decided to keep it!! Anyway, if  you made any similar kind of resolution (because let’s face it, we’re not all going to be slim, teetotal and running marathons come November) then can I recommend starting writing a blog. 
Here’s why:
1) EVERYONE has a story to tell! 
You might think your life is a bit dull or you’ve nothing to say but you have! ! I’m a big fan of chit chat, a favourite way to pass the time and this is why. People are fascinating, everyone you speak to has a tale to tell. It’s the same with blogs. I read a fair few a week and I just love  reading people’s stories, different takes on the world (also I’m a nosy cow). 

You’ve a story. If you fancy telling it-do!! 

2) It’s therapeutic (for me) 
Writing my blog soothes my soul, it really does. When I first began my blog it was focused on life after domestic abuse and writing it down did help me process a lot in my mind. It helped me heal. 

Even the light hearted stuff I waffle on about here like how much I fancy Andy Murray (swoon) or my quirky family makes me smile and that can never be a bad thing! 

3) It’s a really sociable hobby
This is something I’ve only really experienced in the past year or so. I used to blog as a really solitary hobby. I’d envy all those proper bloggers on Twitter all having a laugh and chatting away. So I began to make an effort joining  in with linkies and blog chats and just engaging with these fab communities (hey tribal chat crew!) and it’s been so rewarding. 

4) It gives me super powers
I don’t know if it’s the writing things down bit or the aforementioned loveliness of other bloggers but writing a blog seems to give me these self confidence super powers I just don’t have in everyday life. For example I am rubbish at blowing my own trumpet and I can’t abide drawing attention to myself but when I’m promoting a blog post I’m all ‘look at me!’  ‘read my stuff’ without a second thought! It’s weird!I even wrote a whole blog post begging for votes for some awards ! (it’s here – the vote is still open by the way *outrageous wink*-see? I’m at it again! !) 

I have even bought a ticket to my first ever blogging  conference. Part of me expects to be unceremoniously chucked out for not being a ‘proper’ blogger but I did it anyway. I’m scared to death but I pushed through and did it. Blogging makes me brave! 

5) It’s just good for the soul 
Without wishing to sound twatty being creative always feels good doesn’t it? Whether it’s baking a cake or writing a poem just producing something gives you some nice fuzzy feeling. Sometimes flicking through old posts I come across one and surprise myself that something I’d written was really not total rubbish. Of course this can work the other way too but that’s what the trash button is for. 

So if you’re looking for a new hobby maybe try writing a blog. 

Maybe you’ve a bee in your bonnet about something and you need to share it or you’ve cracked a stage of parenting and want to tell the world. Write it down, publish it. It might be the best thing you do this year ! 



My Facebook blog page is here

Leave a Reply

