So our ‘Ull is all cultural an that..

This morning Hull was announced as the 2017 City of Culture. As a Hull girl, despite no longer living there, I couldn’t be more excited. Hull has been a joke to many for a long while. When it was announced this morning I’m sure I saw a smirk on Eamonn Holmes face.

Hull has been topping the crap city list for as long as I can remember. I’ve heard it said that the best thing about Hull is the train line out of it.
This morning though, my children and I sat in front of the television (no mean feat in the midst of getting ready for school time), to let out a huge cheer that Hull had been chosen. I swallowed the lump in my throat and pushed out my chest in pride and off we went to school.

As the morning has gone on my timelines on Facebook and Twitter are so full of a palpable pride that I’ve shed a tear, I feel so goose pimply reading how much this meant to those amazing Hull people, my friends and family who are proud that Hull is making the headlines for a positive reason.
I am full of pride today and positivity but I am also something else… homesick!! So here are the top 5 things I miss about Hull.

5) The local media.
If you’ve never seen Look North, there must be some funny clips on YouTube, it’s Alan Partridge esque but that’s it’s endearing appeal. The local newspaper the Hull Daily Mail is brilliant, i always buy a copy the second I get off the train when visiting to have a little catch up, and while it covers the big stories incredibly well, it has lovely, local people based articles that make you fuzzy inside.

4)The lingo!
I read schools are trying to crack down on local dialect, but this would be a huge shame. Where else can we ‘lark out down tenfoot, but don’t sprag us up to me mam or I’ll get proper chowed at’. I will also never refer to a pikelet as a crumpet, it just feels wrong.

3)The food.
Now you may not have Hull down as the producer of fine cuisine. In which case you,  my friend, have never tried a pattie. Sure , mashed potatoes with sage and onion deep fried in batter may not sound desirable, but trust me. My personal preference is covered in salt and vinegar in a breadcake (yes a breadcake). I miss chip spice of course, goes without saying!

2)The feel of the place. 

Not sure how to describe this one, but Hull has a soul. It’s like community spirit, but it’s city wide. When Hull City were promoted there was a citywide joy, similarly when Hull fc won the Challenge Cup. This morning was another example, the build up to the announcement has been exciting. Our own version of when London was announced as the winner of the 2012 Olympics.

1)The people.
This is what I miss most about our amazing city. Being able to have a chat at the bus stop, or a gab at the shops. I’m terribly biased of course but I also miss the Hull sense of humour,  it’s dry and self deprecating. I honestly laugh more when I’m home then at any other time. Then there’s the accent, hearing a Hull accent (Jeremy Kyle show excluded) is like a snuggly comfort blanket and gives me the urge to hug the speaker. I adore it if there’s sport on the radio and they use local commentary. The joy of biased radio commentary in a Hull accent makes me a happy girl!!

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t see my home town through rose coloured glasses. Hull has it’s share of deprivation and struggles, but there’s a spirit and determination that I don’t feel anywhere else.
Can’t wait to see what’s in store for 2017, come join us.. try a pattie!!
[twitter-follow screen_name=’daydreamer_mum’

Leave a Reply

